Showing posts with label Topcon GPS. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Topcon GPS. Show all posts

Thursday, May 29, 2008

If you want background imagery for a job and Google Earth has good imagery for the area you can pretty easily make it happen.

In Google Earth go to Tools > Options > 3D View and set the Show Lat/Long option to UTM. Center your targeted area and add a pushpin to each corner and the center of the image. Make the icon for the point a dot instead of the pin as your adding the markers by clicking the pin icon next to the name blank and choose the square or circle icon and set the scale to .5. Doing so will make the icons less obtrusive in the resulting image. Copy each point's coordinate on a scratch pad then go to File > Save > Save Image. Save the image and close Google Earth.

Open Topcon Tools, create a new job and edit the job configuration. In Coordinate Systems set the Projection to your UTM zone and set the Coordinate type to grid. Set the units to Meters. Click View > CAD and start adding the points. Once all the points are added change the projection to your state plane zone.

Go to View > Background images and click Add image. Navigate to and add the image from Google Earth. Zoom in to the first point and click Add point. Set the spatial point to the job point's name and hit OK. Repeat for the rest of the points. Once all points are added, hit calculate. Hit Finish, name and save the resulting .jpw file. Transfer both the .jpg and .jpw file to your data collector and add it to your job as an image.

Video coming soon.

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

The fastest way to connect and download from a Topcon GPS receiver is via the USB port. However a step that often confounds users is the loading of the drivers. Before you even connect the GPS receiver, download the driver zip file from www.hayeshelp.com/downloads.

Extract the file to an easy to find spot on your computer. Next connect the receiver to the computer using the USB cable and turn the unit on.

In most cases a Windows notification bubble will pop up indicating a new device was discovered. The Add New Hardware Wizard should pop up. For the first receiver you install, select “Install from a specific device or location” and click next. Check the box for “Include this location in the search:” Then click browse. Find the folder where the files were extracted to and click ok. Then click next. Shortly a Windows message will pop up warning you that the driver is not signed. Click “continue anyway”. Once the drivers finish installing then click finish. For any other receivers you can now click install automatically to install the drivers.

To test your connection, run PC-CDU and see if USB shows in the Com port pull down.

Go forth and prosper.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Topcon has released a firmware update for all receivers using FH915+ radio boards incuding Hiper Lite+ (sn begins with 384- or 385-), FH915+ GR-3 and RE-S1 repeaters (requires a special programming cable).

Hiper Lite+ (384- or 385-)

GR-3 FH915+

RE-S1

Installation Instructions

We've got a nice new selection of videos for all of our Topcon Products!


TOTAL STATIONS:

GTS-230W

GTS-720

GPT-3000LW

GPT-7000

GPT-7000I



ROBOTICS:

GPT-9000A


GPS:

GR-3


GIS:

GMS-2

Pay-Per-Use and Password Upgradeable Systems

Cinderella Option automatically turns your receiver into a dual frequency GPS+GLONASS for 24 hours every other Tuesday starting at GPS midnight.

The Cinderella Option automatically allows your receiver to receive all available satellite signals for 24 hours every other Tuesday starting at GPS midnight. Any Euro 80 board based receiver will turn into a dual frequency GPS receiver and any Euro 112/160 based receiver will turn into a dual frequency GPS+GLONASS receiver.

Cinderella Option also enables you to participate in the Pay-Per-Use (PPU) program. With PPU program you can buy the minimum system (for example GPS L1) and then pay for other features and options (for example, RTK with GPS+GLONASS L1+L2) as you use them. The usage of features during the Cinderella days is not counted as PPU time and are free as part of the Cinderella Option.

At any time you can buy the features that you have rented and credit the remaining PPU time towards the purchase of the features.

With Cinderella Option (that includes PU/PPU program) you get the following benefits:

  • You minimize the initial investment and will
    have the most sophisticated hardware and software ready when you
    need them.
  • You can test the features like L1+L2 and GPS+GLONASS
    in your actual jobs and then buy them when you are convinced that
    they are more cost effective than L1-only and they provide much
    better results faster.
  • You never have to worry about the need for
    another equipment whatever your survey jobs will end up to be.

The purchase price of any feature is the difference between the price of that feature and what you have already purchased. For example if you have already purchased a GPS L1 Legacy and LegAnt for $4,750 and you need to upgrade them to GPS L1+L2 that costs $9,500, you pay the price difference of $4,750. The same price difference will be the basis for PPU calculation if you decide to rent the L2 feature rather than buying it.

The daily cost of PPU is 1/120 of the purchase price of the feature.

The weekly cost of PPU is 1/30 of the purchase price of the feature.

The monthly cost of PPU is 1/10 of the purchase price of the feature.

We also charge $200 for each PPU/PU transaction order.

If you decide to upgrade your receiver within three months of purchase, we fully credit you the price that you paid for the Cinderella Option towards the purchase of upgrades.

And note that with all the above options, you are purchasing the superior technology of TPS and the advanced features that nobody else can offer.

We reserve the right to change, modify or terminate the PPU/PU program at any time.




Cinderella Days
2008 January February March April
15, 29 12, 26 11, 25 8, 22
May June July August
6, 20 3, 17 1, 15, 29 12, 26
September October November December
9, 23 7, 21 4, 18 2, 16, 30

Friday, April 11, 2008

Power the GPS receiver on and connect it to the computer’s serial port with the 9 pin RS232 cable connected to Port A on the receiver. Receivers that do not have built in power, like the Legacy, will need external power. The charger for the rover will be fine.


Double click the PC-CDU icon.

1. The Connection Parameters window will open.

2. Check the port settings, the Port will default to COM1 and Baud rate will be 115200. If need be, change the com port to match your system settings.

3. Click the connect button.

4. Click the Tools menu then click Receiver Options.




















5. Click the Load button. This will open the Select options file window.

6. Click the dropdown arrow in the “Look in:” field and select the cd drive.

7. Double click the File that matches the number in File name:

8. The authorization file will load. You will see the option fields update.

9. You will now be prompted to Reset the receiver, click OK.












10. This should return you to the Connection Parameters window. Click Connect

11. A dialog will pop up saying The receiver has been reset. Click OK

12. You will be returned to the Option manager window where the Exp. date column will be updated with the new date if the files are temporary. If it is a permanent authorization the purchased column will have a yes beside the purchased options for your receiver. Note: there may still be an expiration date showing but as long as there is a yes in the Purchased column the option is permanent.

13. Click exit then click File then Disconnect.

14. Disconnect the cable from port A on the receiver and power the unit off.

Repeat the above steps for any additional receivers you have.

Thursday, April 10, 2008

1. Connect the receiver to the serial port on computer. Firmware can only be updated through the serial connection. DO NOT use a usb connection.

2. Open Floader and confirm the settings are correct. Baud rate 115200 and Parity None.










3. Click the Device Tab, Set the device type to receiver and hit Get from Device. This verifies the connection and will display the receiver information.









4. Click the Program tab. Set the capture method to Soft Break Capture.

5. Click Browse R









6. Set the Look in to the folder* where the firmware is located and select ramimage.ldr and click Open.









7. Click Browse F and select main.ldp. Click open.

8. Click Load and the status bar will begin to progress.










For Legacy-H/-E and GB500/1000 receivers ramimage.ldr and main.ldp are the
only applicable firmware files.

For all Hipers except Lite, Lite+ and XT go to step 4.

1. Click Browse R and select mloader.ldr and hit Open.

2. Click Browse F and select fhmain.ldp (Hiper Lite/Lite+) or uhf460main.ldp
(Hiper XT) then hit Open.

3. Click Load and the status bar will begin to progress.

4. Click the Device tab and set the Device Type to Receiver’s Power Board.

5. Click the Program tab and set the Capture Method to Soft Break Capture.

6. Click Browse R and select powrbrd.ldr and hit Open.












7. Click Load. (The power board firmware will not take as long to load.)

8. Once the loading is complete disconnect the receiver .

Connect the next receiver and repeat these steps.



















Download PDF here

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Sometimes it is necessary to trim time or satellites from a static log file. Follow these steps for
altering a log file.

1.Import the file into Topcon Tools. Open the time view by going to View > Ocupation View or clicking on the Occupation view button in the tool bar (Fig 1)


Fig 1



2. Click the plus sign beside the file name to expand to show the individual satellites. (Fig 2)







Fig 2

3. To disable all satellites for a block of time, click and hold the left mouse button and drag the box over all the satellites to encompass the section you want to disable. (Fig 3)

















Fig 3


4. Right click on any color bar inside the box and click Disable (Fig 4) to ignore all data inside the boxed area.








Fig 4



5. To disable an entire satellite from the file, just right click on the satellite’s color bar and select disable.

6. If you are post-processing the data in Tools you are ready to add your other data files and process.

7. If you need the edited file in other software or you are going to upload to OPUS you must export the data as a RINEX file.

8. In the workbook area select the GPS Occupations tab and Right click on the file.

9. Select Export… (Fig 5)
















Fig 5


10. Ensure that Disabled svs/epochs is checked, set the directory to save the file and click Save. (Fig 6)
















Fig 6

Go forth and prosper!