Thursday, May 29, 2008
If you want background imagery for a job and Google Earth has good imagery for the area you can pretty easily make it happen.
In Google Earth go to Tools > Options > 3D View and set the Show Lat/Long option to UTM. Center your targeted area and add a pushpin to each corner and the center of the image. Make the icon for the point a dot instead of the pin as your adding the markers by clicking the pin icon next to the name blank and choose the square or circle icon and set the scale to .5. Doing so will make the icons less obtrusive in the resulting image. Copy each point's coordinate on a scratch pad then go to File > Save > Save Image. Save the image and close Google Earth.
Open Topcon Tools, create a new job and edit the job configuration. In Coordinate Systems set the Projection to your UTM zone and set the Coordinate type to grid. Set the units to Meters. Click View > CAD and start adding the points. Once all the points are added change the projection to your state plane zone.
Go to View > Background images and click Add image. Navigate to and add the image from Google Earth. Zoom in to the first point and click Add point. Set the spatial point to the job point's name and hit OK. Repeat for the rest of the points. Once all points are added, hit calculate. Hit Finish, name and save the resulting .jpw file. Transfer both the .jpg and .jpw file to your data collector and add it to your job as an image.
Video coming soon.
Labels: Tech-Tips, Topcon GPS, Topcon Software
Wednesday, April 23, 2008
Redesigned from the ground up, TopSURV 7 is not just an upgrade, it’s a whole new experience from field to finish. From its all-new, super-efficient database engine to its near-universal exporting abilities, 7 delivers the power to simplify and speed your data collection and delivery.
Speed, GUI, and a feel for the road
The new engine has cut file size by an amazing 60%, but that’s just what’s under the hood. Its new graphical user interface and intuitive operation are where the rubber meets the road. Icon driven, with no more than four clicks to get to any operation, 7 helps you quickly negotiate the trickiest turns—both on the controller and onboard. Real-time re-computation of recorded data puts an end to time-wasting pit stops.
Advanced Import/Export, Coding, and Setup
Stock or custom, 7 supports all major file formats and lets you visually create custom codes and ordering to insure a perfect transfer every time. Its new station offset and string list features bring added versatility and efficiency to setup and operation.
The all-new TopSURV 7.
Features include:
- Faster
- 60% smaller file size
- Icon-based GUI
- Intuitive, easy operation
- Advanced import/export
- More COGO
- Advanced collection routines
Modules Available:
Contractor – Simplified functionality for common layout tasks and point collection.
Roading – Create & edit cross section templates, horizontal and vertical alignments, road & slope stakeout, and more.
Robotic – Take control of your Topcon robotic instrument, with complete support for all of the advanced features of our full robotic line-up! Includes automated surface scanning integrated with digital imaging. Pictures are 'rubber sheeted' over measurements for 3D viewing and analysis in Topcon Tools.
GPS – RTK setup and control is quick and easy with our Auto-Base and Auto-Rover routines. Allows complete integration of GPS and conventional surveying data! Unleash the full power and capability of your Topcon GPS+ system!
GIS – Advanced capabilities and data integration for the GIS/Surveying Professional.
***A free update for TopSurv is available hereThe native TopSURV job file in version 7 is different from previous versions. Be sure to download Topcon Link v. 7 to handle the new format.
Official Release Notes
Labels: Topcon Software
Tuesday, April 15, 2008
Concepts— This document outlines the setup instructions to connect the Topcon FC2000 to a Topcon Robot using the Hayes BanTamX Communication System. Many of these steps only need to be done during the initial setup or when the system configuration changes. There are 4 communication links to setup in addition to the Robotic profile in TopSurv: (A) FC2000 to Rover Radio, (B) Rover Radio to Instrument Radio, (C) Instrument Radio to Robotic, and (D) the RC2II setup used for Quicklock.
(A) FC2000 to Rover Radio— The link to the Rover Radio is setup through the Microsoft CE Operating System as a standard Blu
etooth Connection.

(B) BanTamX Rover Radio to BanTamX Instrument Radio Connection.
This connection is predefined and configured at Hayes Instrument Company so that the radio pair will only recognize each other. The connection is established automatically when
both radios are powered on. The status of the radio connection can be determined by
the status of LED lights.

(C) Total Station Setup— The link to the BanTamX Instrument radio is setup onboard
the Topcon 800X Robot.
Connect the BanTamX Bluetooth Radio to the total station via the 6-pin hirose radio
cable and turn the radio on.
1. From the main total station menu:
• Select the Para Menu [F6]
• Select the Communication Menu [F2]
• Select Serial Port RS232C/RC [F1]
• Select
• Press Set [F1] then YES [F5]
• Select Set RC [F3]
• Verify the following settings:
∗ Channel [1]
∗ V.Search [15]
∗ RC [S]
∗ Retry [Std]
∗ Delimit [ETX]
∗ REC-A/B [B]
∗ NEZ-REC [Std]
∗ TrkState [ON]
∗ B.Rate [4800]
∗ Data.L [8]
∗ Parity [None]
∗ Stop Bit [1]
• Press SET [F1] then YES [F5]
• Press [ESC] back to the main total station menu.
2. From the Main Total Station Menu:
• Press Prog [F1] then MORE [F6]
• Press EXT.LINK [F3]
• Press 2. Setting [F2]
• Select 1. CABLE/RADIO MODEM/RC [F1]
• Using the Up/Down [F3/F4] arrow keys, select RADIO MODEM SATEL
3ASd.
• Press SET [F1]
• At the Setting menu, Select 4.PARAMETER (RADIO MODEM) [F4]
• Select 1.SELECT PARAMETERS [F1]
• Using the Up/Down arrow keys, select
• Press [ESC]
• Select 1. Execute [F1]
(RC) RC-2II— Quick Lock Setup— The RC-2II can be used as a redundant communication
mode (see RC-2II only setup guide) but when used with the BanTamX Hayes Communication
System the RC-2II acts as a Quicklock assist to help the gun acquire lock to the prism.
RC-2II
1. Open the battery chamber and remove the batteries. Locate the dip-switch block at the bottom of the battery chamber and verify that dip-switch 3 is to the right. The other
switches should be set the to left.
2. Put in fresh batteries if unsure about their age (typical battery life is 40 hrs).


Download PDF here